Baseball And Politics: How They Affected The NY Yankees Under George Steinbrenner! :)

George Steinbrenner, the controversial owner of the NY Yankees, overall the best team in Major League Baseball history, died this morning at age 80, leaving behind a legacy of 11 American League pennants and 7 World Series victories under his ownership since 1973!

Of course, any fanatical baseball fan, as the author is proud to say he is, knows that the NY Yankees, love them or hate them, have the unbelievable historical record of 40 American League pennants and 27 World Series victories! This is over a period of 105 World Series years, not including the two years there was no World Series (1904 and 1994), but counting from 1903 through 2009!

But as a political fanatic and junkie as well, the author finds fascinating the history of Steinbrenner, the Yankees, and the political parties in power during the years he owned and controlled every decision of the Yankees!

Steinbrenner became embroiled in legal trouble for giving a political contribution to Richard Nixon in 1972, and was later pardoned for this by Ronald Reagan, both Republican Presidents!

But his seven World Series victories were under Presidents Carter, Clinton, and Obama (all Democrats), while his four losses were under Presidents Ford, Reagan, and George W. Bush (all Republicans)! 🙂

The Yankees won in 1977 and 1978 (Carter), 1996, 1998, 1999, 2000 (Clinton), and 2009 (Obama), while losing in 1976 (Ford), 1981 (Reagan), and 2001 and 2003 (George W. Bush)!

For a baseball and political and historical fanatic and junkie, today is a very special day, and this trivia is fascinating! 🙂 LOL

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.